CIC Coordinators (By Judicial Circuit) and Duties

Duties of the CIC Coordinator


1. The VPA coordinator must act impartially in making arrangements with the court, show no favoritism to the photographer's employer and no antagonism toward any competitor. Moreover, the coordinator must look out for the interest of all pool participants, especially newspapers who do not belong to a news service.

2. The coordinator shall implement a mutually agreed-upon rotation. Otherwise, the rotation shall be determined by the drawing of names at least 24 hours prior to the court date to allow the notification of the court. The rotation shall be followed throughout the course of the trial. Photographers can be substituted with the verbal consent of the coordinator and other participants.

3. The coordinator shall make sure that no costs of coverage shall be borne by the Commonwealth of Virginia. All costs of coverage rest with interested newspapers and news services. In the case of court proceedings with wide interest, the coordinator will arrange for a central processing facility where pool participants are to divide those responsibilities.

VPA Coordinators

By Judicial Circuit

 

Statewide Coordinator

Steve Helber

The Associated Press, Richmond

(804) 643-6646,

shelber@ap.org 

Circuits 1-4 (Chesapeake, Virginia Beach, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Northampton, Accomack)

Randall Greenwell

The Virginian-Pilot, Norfolk

(757) 446-2392

randall.greenwell@pilotonline.com

Circuit 5 (Southampton, Isle of Wight, Suffolk)

Res Spears

Suffolk News-Herald

(757) 539-3437

res.spears@suffolknewsherald.com

Circuit 6 (Hopewell, Brunswick, Greensville, Prince George, Sussex, Surry) and Circuit 11 (Petersburg, Dinwiddie, Nottoway, Amelia, Powhatan)

Betsy Edwards

Virginia Press Association

(804) 521-7584

betsye@vpa.net

Circuits 7-9 (Newport News, Hampton, Charles City, James City, New Kent, King William, King & Queen, Gloucester, Middlesex, Mathews, York, Poquoson)

Adrin Snider

Daily Press, Newport News

(757) 247-4909

asnider@dailypress.com

Circuit 10 (Halifax, Mecklenburg, Lunenburg, Charlotte, Prince Edward, Cumberland, Buckingham, Appomattox)

Betsy Edwards

Virginia Press Association

(804) 521-7584

betsye@vpa.net

Circuits 12-14 (Colonial Heights, Chesterfield, Richmond City, Henrico)

James Wallace

Richmond Times-Dispatch

(804) 649-6541

jwallace@timesdispatch.com

Circuit 15 (Fredericksburg, Hanover, Caroline, Spotsylvania, Stafford, King George, Westmoreland, Northumberland, Lancaster, Richmond County, Essex)

Dave Ellis

The Free Lance-Star, Fredericksburg

(540) 374-5437

dellis@freelancestar.com

Circuit 16 (Charlottesville, Albemarle, Fluvanna, Louisa, Orange, Culpeper, Madison, Greene, Goochland)

Andrew Shurtleff

The Daily Progress, Charlottesville

(434) 978-7278

ashurtleff@dailyprogress.com

Circuits 17-19 (Arlington, Alexandria, Fairfax)

Mark Miller

The Washington Post

(202) 334-7380

Mark.Miller@washpost.com

Circuit 20 (Fauquier, Rappahannock, Loudoun)

Steve Campbell

Fauquier Times, Warrenton

(540) 351-0487

scampbell@virginianewsgroup.com

Circuit 21 (Patrick, Henry)

Betsy Edwards

Virginia Press Association

(804) 521-7584

betsye@vpa.net

Circuit 22 (Danville, Pittsylvania, Franklin)

Robert Benson

Danville Register & Bee

(434) 791-7990

rbenson@registerbee.com

Circuit 23 (Roanoke City, Roanoke County) and Circuit 27 (Giles, Pulaski, Montgomery, Bland, Wythe, Grayson, Carroll, Floyd, Salem)

Lee Wolverton

The Roanoke Times

(540) 981-3207 

Lee.wolverton@roanoke.com

Circuit 24 (Lynchburg, Bedford, Campbell, Amherst, Nelson)

Caroline Glickman

The News & Advance, Lynchburg

(434) 385-5552

cglickman@newsadvance.com

Circuit 25 (Staunton, Waynesboro, Covington, Clifton Forge, Botetourt, Craig, Alleghany, Rockbridge, Bath, Highland, Augusta)

Randall Wolf

The News Leader, Staunton

(540) 213-9121

rwolf@newsleader.com

Circuit 26 (Harrisonburg, Winchester, Rockingham, Page, Shenandoah, Warren, Clarke, Frederick)

Maria Montgomery

The Winchester Star

(540) 665-4941

mmontgomery@winchesterstar.com

Circuit 28 (Bristol, Washington County, Smyth)

David Crigger

Bristol Herald Courier

(276) 645-2535

dcrigger@bristolnews.com

Circuit 29 (Buchanan, Dickenson, Russell, Tazewell)

Jim Talbert

Richlands News-Press

(276) 963-1081

jtalbert@richlands-news-press.com

Circuit 30 (Norton, Lee, Scott, Wise)

Kevin Mays

The Coalfield Progress, Norton

(276) 679-1101

kmays@coalfield.com

Circuit 31 (Manassas, Manassas Park, Woodbridge, Prince William)

Kari Pugh

InsideNoVa.com/Prince William Today

(571) 330-1029

kpugh@princewilliamtoday.com